Welcome to the Georgia Department of Community Affairs

DCA Press Releases

Current Press Releases

For more information, contact MaryBrown Sandys, Director of Marketing and Communications, 404-679-0661, MaryBrown.Sandys@dca.ga.gov

Georgia Awarded Multi-Million Dollar Grant for High-Precision Elevation Data   (1/10/2018)
Atlanta, GA (January 10, 2018) – The State of Georgia has been awarded a United States Geological Survey (USGS) 3D Elevation Program grant for the acquisition of elevation data for 67 Georgia counties -- over one third of the State.

Nine Communities Designated as Rural Zones   (12/29/2017)
Atlanta, GA (December 29, 2017) – The state has designated the communities of Bainbridge, Commerce, Cornelia, Fitzgerald, Jonesboro, Nashville, Perry, Springfield, and Toccoa as Rural Zones, a new program enacted by the legislature in 2017. Portions of each community – primarily historic downtown areas – are now zoned to allow for tax credits to eligible businesses that create jobs and stimulate economic activity in these communities.

30 communities to receive $23.2 million in Housing Tax Credits    (11/7/2017)
Atlanta, GA (November 7, 2017) – The Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA) announced today that it will award $23.2 million federal housing tax credits to construct or rehabilitate 30 affordable rental housing properties located throughout the state. The properties, which were selected from 73 applications, include affordable housing for working families, housing for Georgia seniors and housing for persons with disabilities. The new units are located in both rural and urban areas in the state. They are anticipated to be available for tenant occupancy in late 2019.

Nine Georgia communities recognized for successful planning   (10/5/2017)
Atlanta, GA (October 5, 2017) – During its annual Fall Conference in Savannah, the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA) announced that nine Georgia communities have received statewide distinction in the PlanFirst program, which recognizes excellence in community planning. Crawford County, along with the cities of Adel, Byron, Forsyth, Griffin, Jesup, Perry, Thomasville and Tifton, each achieved the “PlanFirst” designation, a commendation given to communities with a proven track record of strong development and implementation of their comprehensive plan.

Cedartown, Liberty County, Madison, Pine Mountain and Trion “Graduate” from Georgia Initiative for Community Housing Program   (10/4/2017)
Atlanta, GA (October 4, 2017) – Local leaders from the cities of Cedartown and Madison, the towns of Pine Mountain and Trion, and Liberty County were each recognized for their community’s completion of the Georgia Initiative for Community Housing (GICH) program during the annual retreat held September 19-21 in Athens. The achievements of each community will be highlighted today at the Georgia Department of Community Affairs' (DCA) annual fall conference in Savannah.

Five Georgia Communities Selected for State Housing Program   (10/4/2017)
ATLANTA, GA (October 4, 2017) – Five Georgia communities have been newly selected to receive assistance with their housing needs through the Georgia Initiative for Community Housing (GICH), a public-private initiative that helps communities strategically grow their economies through housing-related solutions. The collaborative of Troup County/Hogansville/LaGrange/West Point and the Cities of Byron, Cochran, McRae-Helena, and Norcross will begin the three-year program in February 2018. The communities will be recognized Wednesday at the Georgia Department of Community Affairs' (DCA) annual fall conference in Savannah.

All Press Releases


Subscribe to the DCA Newsletter (please be sure to include your name and email address)